An Hour In A Broadway Cafeteria


A scorching afternoon, the cafeteria almost jam-packed, and my dad wanted me to wait there for an hour! Even a minute would be something impossible, as there was not an inch of space left, but I had to.

My dad said, “Watch the crowd, what if you get a topic to write “. To write about the crowd, what did he mean by that? Only he can answer it.

I just managed to get a coupon for a lime juice and a seat in the corner of the room, looking at the crowd waiting hungrily for their turn to grab plates filed with scrumptious food.

As I was enjoying that never-ending crowd a stout woman, with a plate of chappathi and curry, came hurriedly and almost sat on the bag that I had kept near me. God! my bag! Oh! I need to save it.

I valiantly took it away before the lady could crush my new Nokia 3500 mobile phone.

As I had my lunch from the office I didn’t feel any interest in those flavorsome dishes and hence started enjoying my lime juice, watching the crowd. The head of the lady near me was almost hidden in the plate that I could see only the small hump on her back. A minute or two passed and shocking me she finished her heavy lunch, stood up , her body a little, as if to fill in whatever she had. With a satisfying glee she left, sparing my bag and my mobile.

An , ice-cream, that would me the next turn in my list, as I had to wait my watch to tick 2700 times more. I went to the counter hurriedly to take a coupon for an ice cream, as my dad would not allow me to have one. Tonsillitis was something that restricted me from having ice creams.

But I couldn’t control the temptation.

The bearer gave me a long list, vanilla, butter scotch…., for my preference. I was in a dilemma. I hardly knew about the different flavors and brand names. The first is the best, I said “Vanilla Please”, but didn’t even know how it would look like.

Victoriously, I started enjoying my ice-cream, with the scary thoughts of tonsillitis and my dad who would reach there any moment.

The flow of crowd was still going on in full swing.

I managed to have it completely and gave my cup back on time before my dad reached the table. Tired of his journey and the pain on his knees he sat near me and had his lunch

As we were about to leave, I turned back to look at the cafeteria and the crowded food counter again. Adieu ! I loved that one hour.

One response

  1. bloginate peerum paranju vaayil ittu nookunthu kollaam !! kochu galliii ;PKeep eating icecreams !!keep blogging !!

Leave a Reply

