Myself


What if I live single? I have asked this question plenty of times to everyone who shows me a sad smiley.Some people are always keen to know whether I am really happy. The more evidence I give them about my happiness, the more they ask me.

These glorified savors blatantly question me wherever I go, as if they are really worried about my single status. What’s wrong in being single? Well, in my case I don’t find grave mistake in it. I love to live so until I get someone really worth marrying.

A single woman doesn’t always mean someone with loose morals, great to party or sleep with, just mistrust that the society carries out purposefully, due to the false notion that single people are failures. There are many noted people from all walks of life, who enjoy their single status, high up enough in their professions to be able to earn enough to live alone. But I have always seen that the society always targets a single woman making her life distressful.

Single or wed, it’s my life, why should the society be worried about it? And I always feel that the best way to have a happy life is not to get into a forceful relationship, but to build one, full of meaning and satisfaction. This can be possible only when you choose to wed someone who is completely of your own choice. If not, I feel, it’s better to remain single.

Marriage should never become a contract, but a gracious bondage between two individuals, that has to be maintained throughout life.

2 responses

  1. Dear Anjana sister/brother, Addressing may look awkward. So is needed, as the identity, sex, age given in a blog cannot be swallowed as such. I take you as a female. If so read..I am Miss Menon. A Dr. prefix is there to my name for the PhD I took from Kolkata University, of which I was very proud in my younger ages. Now I am 42 , with a body fueled by medicines than food.(PhD now to me is “Physical Disability”). Your blog matter “Myself” made me write this, despite my ill health due to recurrent heart attacks, diabetics which ate half of my right leg and pulmonary insufficiency which never let me breath pure natural air, as major part of my present days I am put on Oxygen apparatus. I am second of the four children to my parents. Two boys and two girls. I took my graduation and post graduation from Trichur. The state and university recognized my outstanding performance. To friends, teachers and many of my relatives I was a model and what else. I took the art of writing. Some started finding space in ‘Medias of heritage’. I took myself a media queen. Pride slowly made my head heavier than my neck could hold. My parents who were of average, sought alliances for me. I took myself as a superior race, who never had the time to think of womanhood which I pretended a silly thing. I was always in a world of dreams (or pretended like that I don’t know). The lack of courage to tell a man that I like him or choose one who liked me, in the fear that the so said magnanimity which I pretended to have would burst like a soap bubble. The young blood of mine made me discard everything and keep only the wand of ego with me. I was running up and down for fame, recognition. In the meantime I got appointed in one of the leading media in the business capital. I worked there for a couple of years to make my well-wishers the worst foes with my arrogant behavior and rude nature. Colleagues chunked before my rash drive of words. Things slowly started changing. I was being isolated. My presence was sensed only by me. I started hating my surroundings. No peace of mind. Resigned and left to Kolkata. Enrolled for doctoral ship, and attained my goal. Then also I could not change. In the meantime my parents passed away. Brothers and sister got their family. I joined a prestigious institution and started working. Purely mechanical. Years passed with which my health also got ruined. Ten years after reaching Kolkata, one night I woke up to find that my left side has gone out from my control. I was shocked. Fear overtook me. With much effort I contacted the neighboring flat who took me to hospital. I was put on bed rest. Initially the families of our abode visited me. Gradually the frequency of visits deflated. Literally half my body and a paid bystander to take care of my other half part. Discharged from hospital I am leading a very miserable life. No relative, no family, no……………….My life I exposed to you in part, to give you a chance to think and act not to become a prey to ego. LET YOU BE SAVED. ACCEPT IT NOW OR YOU WILL NEVER GET IT AGAIN.

  2. To ‘Miss’As you have hided behind the technical aids of blogger, I am posting my reply here. I am fully aware of the heavenly life that a blissful marriage can give me. But as I have said in my blog, I need to be blessed to get the right person. ….I always feel that the best way to have a happy life is not to get into a forceful relationship, but to build one, full of meaning and satisfaction. This can be possible only when you choose to wed someone who is completely of your own choice.Marriage should never become a contract, but a gracious bondage between two individuals, that has to be maintained throughout life.The guys whom I had to meet through the matrimonial alliances gave some wonderful comments after meeting me; “I didn’t find any thing impressive in you”, “I need 2 pegs of whiskey a day to survive”, “Will u resign your job coz my mother doesn’t want the girl to work” …. Well the list goes on. Fed up of these, but I had to shut my doors against them. But once I find a good person, I will surely get settled. Any way thanks for your advice. Get well soon. I will pray for you.

Leave a Reply

