PS – I am really loving it!


P S I Love You… the title of the book seemed a little awkward to me, when ‘B’ handed over the book . I had asked her to get me a good book so that I can happily spend my after-office hours. But I was feeling a little uneasy with the title, as it sounded like a Mills and Boons story, and hence wanted to return it without reading. But donno, why, may be introduction that she gave about the book, well… reason unknown …I took it to my room.

My eyes got struck first at the catchy synopsis first. It read as follows

“Holly couldn’t live without her husband Gerry, until the day she had to. They were the kind of young couple who could finish each other’s sentences. When Gerry succumbs to a terminal illness and dies, 30-year-old Holly is set adrift, unable to pick up the pieces. But with the help of a series of letters her husband left her before he died and a little nudging from an eccentric assortment of family and friends, she learns to laugh, overcome her fears, and discover a world she never knew existed. The kind of enchanting novel with cross-generational appeal that comes along once in a great while, PS, I Love You is a captivating love letter to the world!”

The basis of the book sounded nice to me. Holly’s (the lead female) husband, Gerry, dies from a brain tumor and leaves her some envelopes to open every month. Gerry’s letters make her feel his presence in her life. To be frank, the start off was a bit dragging and took some time for me to get in to the world of Holly, but I was engrossed when she started getting the letters of her husband Gerry. I really liked Gerry, especially the flashbacks and the letters that he leaves for his dear wife. Gerry is a really cute, caring and loving guy, who cares for his wife a lot. As far as his nature is concerned, well… well… it sounded a little bit idealistic concept that would rarely become practical these days. I told the same to ‘B’ and she laughed saying ‘It’s a story dear, don’t go for too much of analysis, read and enjoy!’ I went back to the world of Holly.

Through the letters, which are his own way of letting her know he will always be there for her, Gerry sets his presence throughout the pages. Each letter becomes a new experience for Holly. The most passionate part of those letters is the similarity in the way Gerry signs off: “P.S. I Love You.”

The life of Holly and Gerry is really touching, heartfelt and will make us think about the people I love, even more. It’s really interesting to see how Holly tries learning to live on her own and finding happiness, from a great loss.

It’s making me laugh, making me cry, making me think about my dear ones; it’s making me so desperate to read the book the sooner…

So lemme go back. See you soon guys!

Leave a Reply

