The tragic movie time


Yes, absolutely tragic, as I wasted almost 2 hours watching a disastrous movie and lost all the admiration that I had carried for the maker of the movie.

Movies ….they should envisage the changes that happen around us among which some can be good, and some bad, I do agree. A good movie is born when it is realistic as well as entertaining… so that we can enjoy it as well as relate the characters with our day to day life.

A film can portray the good as well as bad happenings in the society, but too much hyped and wrongly chosen themes seen certain movies are very hard to digest. May be certain directors might scoff at my ignorance… saying that I am not clever enough to grab their elite class movies that are full of modernity high-thinking and philosophical subjects. I have a question to them. If a common man cannot enjoy it then why make a movie of that’s sort?

Another point that I have noted is a flood of weird themes like extra-marital relationships and hard core violence in movies, and the way open chit chats are being conducted in about these. It’s really nauseating to see certain sickening themes like adultery being presented and snobbishly discussed by new generation ‘art film’ directors; and the stodgiest aspect is the way in which they glorify these themes, thereby giving a wrong message to society. I pity them… I really pity them!

I have a reason for writing this. I happened to see a movie yesterday, from a very famous South Indian director. The loner and alcoholic hero and the fragile minded heroine of the movie were absolutely mind-numbing that I have no words to tell you my reaction on seeing that crap stuff.

The hero is a ‘womanizer to boot’ and the heroine, the delicate darling (I hate calling her like that!), is drawn towards him even though she is married and has a kid, and their relation ends in bed in no time. The hero never develops any emotional bondage towards her even after she becomes pregnant with his child.

The ending of the movie was the worst of all, when the heroine goes with the womanizer hero, leaving her husband.

Lust and infidelity monopolized the entire movie that I felt absolutely sick watching it. By romanticizing the infidelity that heroine commits, and mocking at the loyalty of her husband, the director simply degraded to the level of a third class movie maker. Yet the filmmaker was praised a lot for making the movie and honors were showered on him in plenty, by the media and a group of reviewers. I still remember his pretentious speech during one of the promos of the movie, as if he has done an epic stuff.

Don’t know if his upcoming movie (to be released in a week) would again glorify the same theme or not?

PS – The views expressed are the author’s alone ***

***Hey! I need to give this guys, as people who keep on praising and reviewing valueless movies like these would never spare me after reading the blog! (lol)

Leave a Reply

