Time for a break!!!


A day without any tensions, I had a very happy time on Monday. A whole day without my PC and cell phone, a very happy non-online world, I badly wanted that, to get rid of the exhaustion that I had, after putting a hell of toil on my recent projects. Moreover the menstrual cramps were just killing me!!!

I crawled out of my bed only at 8 in the morning, had my coffee and breakfast, and came back to my room soon. The first thing that I did was changing my phone to silent mode. Actually I wanted to switch off my cell phone, but didn’t want my mom to get worried, and hence chose ‘silent mode’ as the best option. I had a book with me, but didn’t feel like hurting my eyes. They badly needed rest for a day. My roommate left by 9 am. I closed the door and jumped back to my bed. I felt so happy, even though I was alone, coz I was free of deadlines, at least for a day. I slept till 12.30!!! Yes, no one who knows me would believe this! But I really did! Getting sound and restful sleep for three hours is really great. That even took away my menstrual cramps and I felt absolutely fresh afterward.

The cleaning staff came by 12.30 or else I would have slept half an hour more. (lol).

After lunch I thought of going out for a walk, but the scorching heat wiped out that idea from my mind. What next? Well, I didn’t want to sleep again. Yes, the book, I thought of reading it and was about to take it, when my friend came in to my room. She had gone to attend her exam. We had a nice time together and talked about some interesting topics. By four I went to the mess hall to have my tea, and she went back to her room. I came back with a cup of tea for her. While she had her tea I had some snacks that she offered, luckily some of them were my true favorites like tea rusks.

My roommate came back by 5.30 and was surprised to see me fresh and lively, as she thought I would have felt really boring, being alone in the hostel. I told her that I had a wonderful day. She was very happy to hear that. I really had a nice time, no matter being alone or not. I did whatever I felt like, never had any restraints of any sort, and didn’t think of any of the disheartening things that occurred these days. I didn’t think about anything that had negative vibes. The whole day was just wonderful. It’s really good to take a break like this, as it refreshes our mind and body a lot. Thanks to Shirley for the idea!

I reached the office on time the next day, and everyone wanted to know the reason behind my sudden disappearance. I told my Branch Manager, that I had menstrual cramps, and she was fine with my answer. What about others? I didn’t give them the reason yet.

2 responses

  1. Menstrual Cramps is quite a common problem among women. It pains a lot, every time i suffer from this problem, so i know how it feels. It feels like vomiting, headache, sense of fainting etc. One should do regular exercise, should eat fresh fruits and vegetables, yoga. One should avoid fatty items, caffine, sweets.

  2. Thanks a lot for the tips.

Leave a Reply

