Let the clock keep ticking


“Get married soon as your biological clock is ticking.” Yes, you heard that right, and that was the distasteful comment that I received right in the morning, while talking to someone who was desperately trying to show-off his over pouring concern for me. I was immensely amused by the fact that he was more worried about my ‘impending’ menopause, which is actually way too far from visibility right now, than my happiness and comfort being with a man. I told him that I was ‘touched’ by his overgrowing concern for my womanhood, and gave him a satisfactory reply that he needn’t rack his brains too much about femininity as I am sufficiently matured and experienced enough to make may own decisions and execute it perfectly.

I was a bit taken aback by the remark, but kept thinking about the reason why an unmarried woman who has crossed her thirties is always the target for such mock and ridicule. If a woman health is what the so called “well wisher” folks are worried about, the same applies to men too, which no one dares to mention. This is nothing but the sickening mentality of the age-old, rotten, male domination, which is yet to be eradicated completely from our superficially modern society. Although I give deaf ears to such gender targeting comments and hollow remarks, sometimes they start getting on my nerves, urging me to shout loud to make them shut their nasty mouth that keeps fouling the ambiance around me with such sickening comments.

The other day I went to our temple, which is a stone throw away from my home. Till recently, I was regular with temple visits and prayers, but slowly had to reduce the numbers, as I started getting suffocated amid the presence of women who couldn’t spare themselves from showing-off their nauseating sympathy towards the “single, unmarried, and lonely” me. So of them even showed their generosity by bringing me marriage proposals from widowers who are double my age, and are on the verge of losing the so called “reproductive capability” that these women keep reminding me, and other women, who live life on their own terms. Even yesterday was no different, as I soon met a few sympathizers right at the temple door, even before getting in. My tongue, although kept reciting hymns, took a break and started chanting “s**** and f****”, to get rid of the anger that was building-up inside me. I soon left the place saying hurriedly, saying an averagely sensible excuse.

Marriage, I think, is not just about conceiving or getting a licenced agreement to enjoy the physical pleasures that every human being craves for. I am not saying that they are unimportant in life, as I know very well that they do matter, or rather have pivotal roles. But above them is necessity of having a “real” man in life, an honest and well behaved person with commendable self esteem, and immense respect for women, and all those must needed qualities that would make life worth living. If men lack such basic qualities that make them worth calling “men”, I don’t think there is any need to fall for such deformed guys who may only need a person who pamper their manly ego, and satisfy their needs in bed. Just to tell you an example of this; I was talking to a friend of mine, who was so interestingly talking about the extramarital affairs that are happening these days. When I called them the most sinful, the lust, he ferociously disagreed with me saying it is never a crime, but rather a basic bodily need, and the need of the hour. I was shocked to hear him say this. Here is a man who recently married his girl friend of twelve years is talking about the so called ‘advantages’ extra marital relations. I left the place soon, while he kept wondering what made me irritated. Such sick men who live only for bodily happiness should in fact never be blessed with loving wives, who are unaware of their husbands’ lustful thoughts. Such sick men not only ruin themselves, but even mess up the lives of many others around them.

I am not unhappy that I am not married, and I would never ever regret for not making a less than average choice of man. I am not confined to any biological predestination, but look more in to those many sublime qualities that a man “must” have, because I am not just looking for someone to deflower me and remain as my boss throughout my life, but, I need a “real man” to love and respect me the way I am, and if I don’t get any one, I would prefer remaining single and happy, rather than frantically trying to get hooked for the sake of it, just because my biological clock is ticking, or the so called fake well-wishers keep showering their unending sympathy, or because I would never be able find the ‘complete gratification’ as a woman. So, let the clock keep ticking, as I strongly feel that I will meet ‘him’ very much before the time ends. Will be happy if I can, but will never regret if I can’t!

2 responses

  1. Who is he to decide which clock is ticking and which is not. God forbid, but what if something happened to him on his way home/office and his clock stopped ticking? Did he know that in advance? Nonsense such men are. Insensitive and lacking in respect for others for making such crude remarks about things he doesn’t have a clue!!

  2. People just need a chance to start advising. That’s’ all.

Leave a Reply

