Talk what you know, not what you heard


Though commenting and criticizing about anything and everything under the sun has become ‘forgivably’ humane these days, let’s speak not of what we don’t know, because it’s absolutely foolish and vexatious to talk things that we don’t know anything about. Although I have this strong fear that my message may fall upon deaf years, I have had a very bad experience the other day, which forced me to share my thoughts on people who don’t even think twice to pour their ‘intelligently’ fashioned criticisms on those whom they don’t know or have never ever met at any point in their lives.

I was at home the other day with my parents, and planned to take a day off to visit an ashram close by. As the pressure-filled life is taking a toll on my mental and emotional well-being each day, leaving me tensed or anxious, I wanted to spend sometime away from the daily hassles and relax amid chanting of hymns, recital of vedas, bhajans, and hours of meditation practices. So I quickly grabbed my bags and hopped in to the car, looking forward to spending a day in the sane amid the sanctity of the ashram that has continued to teach the unfathomable power of love, prayers, and selfless service to humanity.

We spent more than three fourth of our day amid the sanctified ashram ambiance, and had many hours of reinvigorating and soul cleansing moments filled with prayers. After weeks of tiring and thankless works and stress filled lonesome days in my ‘big’ city, I couldn’t be more happier for being at a calm and inspirational place that soothed my senses and pumped in a huge amount of energy and enthusiasm for many more weeks of tiresome and fast-paced life where I have to deal with tons of emotionless and heartless souls and energy-draining works await me one after the other.

As I walked in to the office after my weekend, the guy sitting next to me, who has a very negatively microscopic view of looking at people and things around, along with an absolutely wrong way of deciphering what he gets to see, happened to see a set of rudraksh beads tied on to my right wrist, and wanted to know where I got them from. As I started telling him about the soothing weekend time, I expected him to be happier for me, given the fact that it has brought in very visible positive energy on my face. But, completely against my anticipation, his preconceived notions about the ashram came out evidently at the very next moment, when he started spurting his venomous comments so openly that I was taken aback for a moment, before sliding back to my senses. Intending to make it all the more mortifying, he went on spitting out his disgraceful, derogatory, and rather annoying remarks, drawing a stink-filled conclusion that a group of vixens and reynards live there, and indulge in sinful carnal pleasures, in the name of god and religion. . Although I was tempted reply in the very same tone, I walked away with dignified silence. I was in no mind to pour out words of wisdom and knowledge in to his rot filled mind as I knew that it would make no difference in his grime –filled way of thinking.

blog

Calling someone a femme fatale or a vixen without even meeting once or knowing what that person has been doing for the humanity is undoubtedly sinful and unquestionably contemptible, but yet, the world would never change, unless and until the foul-mouthing scandal mongerers get a taste of their own medicine. Who are we to judge someone we don’t know, or haven’t met even once? I had been to the ashram and have watched their selfless and unmatched services to people around, the reason why I find it hard to stand the outpour of unjustifiable allegations. Although I can cite several examples that prove the selflessness and generosity of the asharam inmates, here’s one that I couldn’t find anywhere else I’ve been so far. Everyone who visits the ashram gets stomach full of scrumptious food three times a day for free. Yes, you read it right! They feed endless number of people each day, without taking even a penny from any one of them. This is just a very minute part of their entire charitable services that have now become a role model to millions across the globe. Yet, people shamelessly draw their own prejudiced opinions about, just based on baseless hearsays.

I am not a worshipper of ‘human gods’ nor do I believe in the so called gurus who make vibhuti and gifts from air. I believe in the supreme power, but have immense respect for those help and feed the poor, sick, and the hungry, with no selfish intentions in mind. As I said before, I am not fascinated by the unexplainable illusions that make people trust self-confessed human gods, but believe that one gets elevated to the status of respectfulness only through selfless services that are intended to make others happy. The ashram or its inmates didn’t shower gifts on me or took me to fascination with endless gimmickries to blindfold my sense of rationalism and make me a blind believer. Yet, they gave a peaceful day and a much relaxing ambiance to invoke god and chant my prayers in absolute silence. They fed me and many other people, serving us smiling, gave us the tranquil and peaceful surroundings to relax and reinvigorate, talked to us for hours together, positively impacting our minds, making us look forward to the next day we can get to be back in the ashram and its divine ambiance.

blog

I don’t have any anger or hatred for people who speak ill about the ashram or the people there, but pity such people who hate to see what the reality is, and instead choose to see and believe things that are nothing but the fantasized stories of a group of people who have never seen or experienced the truth.

Leave a Reply

